MP bowled over to become Patron of Newhaven Bowling Club

Maria Caulfield the Member of Parliament for Newhaven has spoken of her delight at becoming Patron of Newhaven Bowling Club after handing out prizes at the club’s annual awards dinner.

Newhaven Bowling Club was one of the first Bowling Clubs in the UK being founded in 1902 and was a founding member of the EBA, now Bowls England, in 1903. Newhaven Bowling Club has a men’s team, a mixed team and a youth team, all with qualified coaches.

The top awards went to Derek Pierce and Jose Baker who won the Men's Championship and Ladies’ Championship respectively.

Maria Caulfield MP said “It was a pleasure to join Newhaven Bowling Club to help present the prizes at their annual awards dinner. A lot of hard work goes into the running of the club, without mentioning the hard work and dedication of those on the bowling green.”

“I was delighted to be asked to become the Patron of Newhaven Bowling Club, an offer that I happily accepted. I look forward to working more with Newhaven Bowling Club in the future.”